IV-2 – Advances in high spatial resolution probing of local heterogeneities in ion-conducting materials


Organizers: Peter Crozier (Arizona State University), David McComb (Ohio State University), Y. Shirley Meng (University of California, San Diego), M. Stanley Whittingham (Binghamton University).

Shirley Meng

University of California, San Diego, USA

Dr. Y. Shirley Meng received her Ph.D. in Advance Materials for Micro & Nano Systems from the Singapore-MIT Alliance in 2005, after which she worked as a postdoc research fellow and became a research scientist at MIT. Shirley is currently the Professor of NanoEngineering, University of California San Diego (UCSD). Dr. Meng’s research focuses on the direct integration of experimental techniques with first principles computation modeling for developing new intercalation compounds for electrochemical energy storage. She is the founding Director of Sustainable Power and Energy Center (SPEC), consisting faculty members from interdisciplinary fields, who all focus on making breakthroughs in distributed energy generation, storage and the accompanying integration-management systems. She is the principle investigator of the research group - Laboratory for Energy Storage and Conversion (LESC). Dr. Meng received several prestigious awards, including C.W. Tobias Young Investigator Award of the Electrochemical Society, BASF Volkswagen Electrochemistry Science Award, Frontier of Innovation Award and NSF CAREER Award. Dr. Meng is the author and co-author of more than 120 peer-reviewed journal articles, 1 book chapter and two patents.