IV-4 – Point defect chemistry of oxide materials


Organizers: Yoed Tsur (TECHNION, Israel Institute of Technology).

Harry Tuller

Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

Harry L. Tuller is Professor of Ceramics and Electronic Materials; Department of Materials Science and Engineering and Head of the Crystal Physics and Electroceramics Laboratory at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA. He received B.S. and M.S. degrees in Electrical Engineering and Eng.Sc.D. in Solid State Science & Engineering from Columbia University, NY; served as Postdoctoral Research Associate; Physics, Technion, Israel, following which he joined the faculty at MIT. His research focuses on defects, diffusion, and the electrical, electrochemical and optical properties of metal oxides with applications to sensors, fuel cells, photoelectrochemistry, thin film oxides, MEMS and memristive devices. He has published over 455 articles, co-edited 15 books and was awarded 33 patents. He is Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Electroceramics; Series Editor of Electronic Materials: Science and Technology published by Springer-Nature; co-founder of Boston MicroSystems, a pioneer in silicon carbide-based MEMS technology and devices and President of the International Society of Solid State Ionics (2015-17). His honors include: Fellow of the American Ceramic Society –ACERS- (1984); recipient of Fulbright (1989-1990), and von Humboldt Awards (Germany) (1997- 2002); Docteur Honoris Causa, University Provence, Marseilles (2004); ACERS F.H. Norton Award (2005); elected to World Academy of Ceramics (2006); ACERS Edward Orton Jr. award (2007); Technices Doctor Honoris Causa, University of Oulu, Finland (2009); Outstanding Achievement Award - High Temperature Division, The Electrochemical Society (2010); Somiya Award for International Collaboration in Materials Research, International Union Materials Research Societies, Japan (2012); Helmholtz International Fellow Award (Germany) (2013); Fellow of The Electrochemical Society (2014); President, International Society of Solid State Ionics (2015-17); Life Senior member IEEE; Distinguished Life Member, American Ceramic Society [2016].