I-2 – Advanced Lithium and Sodium Battery Electrode Materials


Organizers: Cristina Tealdi (University of Pavia), Stefano Passerini (Helmholtz Institute Ulm), Craig Fisher (Japan Fine Ceramics Center).

Clare Grey

Cambridge University, UK

Prof. Grey is the Geoffrey Moorhouse-Gibson Professor of Chemistry at Cambridge University and a Fellow of Pembroke College Cambridge. She received her BA and D. Phil. (1991) in Chemistry from the University of Oxford. After post-doctoral fellowships in the Netherlands and at DuPont CR&D in Wilmington, DE, she joined the faculty at Stony Brook University (SBU) as Assistant (1994), Associate (1997) and then Full Professor (2001-2015). She moved to Cambridge in 2009, maintaining an adjunct position at SBU. She was Director of the Northeastern Chemical Energy Storage Center, a Department of Energy, Energy Frontier Research Center (2009-2010) and Associate director (2011-2014). She is currently Director of the EPSRC Centre for Advanced Materials for Integrated Energy Systems (CAM-IES). Her recent honours and awards include the 2011 Royal Society Kavli Lecture and Medal for work relating to the Environment/Energy, Honorary PhD Degrees from the Universities of Orleans (2012) and Lancaster (2013), the Gunther Laukien Award from the Experimental NMR Conference (2013), the Research Award from the International Battery Association (2013), the Royal Society Davy Award (2014) and the Arfvedson-Schlenk-Preis from the German Chemical Society (2015). Her current research interests include the use of solid state NMR and diffraction-based methods to determine structure-function relationships in materials for energy storage (batteries and supercapacitors), conversion (fuel cells) and carbon capture.