I-3 – All Solid-State Batteries


Organizers: Jürgen Janek (Justus-Liebig University), Jennifer Rupp (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Yasutoshi Iriyama (Nagoya University).

Yang Shao-Horn

Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

Professor Shao-Horn is the W.M. Keck Professor of Energy at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (M.I.T.) and Professor of Mechanical Engineering, and Materials Science and Engineering. Professor Shao-Horn earned her B.S. degree from Beijing University of Technology and her Ph.D. degree from Michigan Technological University both in Metallurgical and Materials Engineering. She joined the M.I.T. faculty in 2002. Professor Shao-Horn teaches and conducts research in the area of surface science, catalysis/electrocatalysis, and design of materials for electrochemical energy storage.

Professor Shao-Horn’s research programs are centered on understanding the electronic structures of surfaces, with emphasis on metal oxides, searching for descriptors of catalytic activity, surface/interface reactivity and ion transport, and applying fundamental understanding to design materials for oxygen electrocatalysis, CO2 reduction, ion intercalation and ion conductors, in electrochemical/photoelectrochemical energy conversion and storage, including lithium-ion, flow and metal-air batteries, proton exchange membrane and solid oxide fuel cells.

Professor Shao-Horn’s programs include extensive experimental components including synthesis of well-defined surfaces and nanostructured materials, and investigation of processes at the surfaces/interfaces using electrochemical methods coupled with ex situ and in situ X-ray-based and electron-based spectroscopy. These experimental components are used in conjunction with Density Functional Theory computation efforts to develop new, physically based reaction mechanisms and design principles of materials.

Professor Shao-Horn has published 225+ archival journal papers (Thomson Reuters Highly Cited Researcher) and has advised 70+ M.S. and Ph.D. students and Postdoctoral Associates at MIT, now pursuing successful careers in industry including clean energy startups, chemical, automotive and energy industry, consulting, national research laboratories, and in academia including faculty positions at MIT and Cornell as well as academic positions in Europe and Asia.

Professor Shao-Horn’s leadership and service contributions include: Co-Director for Center for Energy Storage at MIT; Energy Area Head, MIT Mechanical Engineering; National Science Foundation Interdisciplinary Leader and MIT Presidential Energy Research Council. In addition, she has been serving on the advisory/editorial boards of leading journals in energy science and physical chemistry including American Chemical Society Journal of Physical Chemistry, Royal Society of Chemistry Energy and Environmental Science and ChemElectroChem, and Cell Press Chem. Moreover, Professor Shao-Horn has received honors recognizing her teaching/mentoring and research contributions, including the Charles Tobias Young Investigator Award from the Electrochemical Society, the Tajima Prize from the International Society of Electrochemistry, the Research Award by the International Battery Materials Association, the Battery Research Award from the Electrochemical Society, Royal Society of Chemistry Fellow and AAAS Fellow.