I-5 – Polymer electrolyte ionomers: advances in cation- and anion-exchange membranes and ion conduction


Organizers: Andrew Herring (Colorado School of Mines), Michael Hickner (The Pennsylvania State University), Peter Pintauro (Vanderbilt University), Vito Di Noto (University of Padua), Patric Jannasch (Lund University).

Bryan Pivovar

National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA

Bryan Pivovar is Fuel Cell Group Manager in the Chemistry and Nanosciences Center at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) in Golden, CO where he oversees NREL’s electrolysis and fuel cell R&D. He has been a pioneer in several areas of fuel cell development taking on leadership roles and organizing workshops for the Department of Energy in the areas of sub-freezing effects and alkaline membrane fuel cells (2006, 2011 and 2016). For the past 12 months, he has been leading a multi-National Laboratory team pursuing ‘Hydrogen at Scale’ as a pathway for deeply decarbonizing our energy system that explores the importance of Hydrogen in transportation and the other energy sectors. He received his Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering from the University of Minnesota and led fuel cell R&D at Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL) prior to joining NREL. He received the 2012 Tobias Young Investigator Award from the Electrochemical Society and has co-authored over 100 papers in the general area of fuel cells and electrolysis.