I-5 – Polymer electrolyte ionomers: advances in cation- and anion-exchange membranes and ion conduction


Organizers: Andrew Herring (Colorado School of Mines), Michael Hickner (The Pennsylvania State University), Peter Pintauro (Vanderbilt University), Vito Di Noto (University of Padua), Patric Jannasch (Lund University).

William Mustain

University of Connecticut, USA

William (Bill) Mustain is an Associate Professor and the United Technologies Corporation Professor of Engineering Innovation in the Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering at the University of Connecticut. His expertise lies in electrochemical energy generation and storage including: high capacity materials for Li-ion batteries, catalysts and supports for proton exchange membrane and anion exchange membrane fuel cells and electrolyzers, and the electrochemical capture and utilization of CO2. He has published over 70 peer reviewed articles to date and has over 100 invited and conference talks. He has been the recipient of several awards including the 2009 Illinois Institute of Technology Young Alumnus Award, 2013 U.S. Department of Energy Early Career Award, 2014 Connecticut Quality Improvement Platinum Award, 2014 Supramaniam Srinivasan Young Investigator Award (Awarded by the Energy Technology Division of the Electrochemical Society) and 2015-2016 Fulbright Scholar Fellowship.